Ten man Larne earn Swifts victory

Nov 17, 2019 | Archive

MARTY Donnelly’s 46th minute goal earned a hard fought victory at Stangmore Park, despite playing more than an hour with just ten men.

Tomas Cosgrove received his marching orders with 26 minutes on the clock, after being handed a red carded for an off the ball incident.

However, the Invemen regrouped and ensured they would leave with the victory, thanks to a resolute performance for the remainder of the game.

After a fairly quiet start to the game, Larne came close to opening the scoring on 16 minutes, when Jeff Hughes’ powerful effort from 20 yards out was well turned behind for a corner by Sam Johnston, in the home goal.

From the resulting corner, Chris Ramsey almost scored on his first league start of the season, but his effort from six yards was turned blocked by a defender.

With 26 minutes on the clock Tomas Cosgrove was sent off, much to the defender’s frustration.

Towards the end of the half, both goalkeepers ensure it would be scoreless at the break when Conor Devlin denied saved from Ryan Strain, before Johnston was out quickly to smoother Davy McDaid’s effort from Mark Randall’s lofted pass.

Barely a minute had elapsed in the second half, when Marty Donnelly scored the game’s only goal, picking up on a mistake in the home defence before calmly slotting low past Johnston in the home goal.

The closest the home side came to drawing level was after substitute Michael Carvill sent Ryan Strain through on goal, but Conor Devlin stood up to make a fine save from the young striker.

Six minutes from time Johnny McMurray almost doubled the lead, after good work from sub Lee Lynch on the right, but Johnston was on hand to keep it out.

Larne held on for the victory, which moved them seven points clear of Ballymena United, who are in seventh place.

Next up for the Invermen is Saturday’s encounter with Danske Bank Premiership leaders Cliftonville at Inver Park, kick-off is 3pm.

DUNGANNON SWIFTS: Johnston, Byers (Carvill), Redman, Wilson (Noble), King, Clucas, Teggart (Campbell), Lowe, McGuinness, Strain, Gallagher.

Subs: Addis, McGinty, Coyle, Devlin.

LARNE: Devlin, Flowers, Kelly, Ramsey, Sule, Randall, McDaid (Lynch), Donnelly, Cosgrove, Hughes, McMurray (Gilmour)

Subs: Mitchell, Tilney, McKendry, Andrade, Harrison.

Referee: Tim Marshall


Other News