Women Premiership 
May 12, 2023, 7:45 pm
0 - 12
Cliftonville Ladies
Inver Park
Attendance: 209
Women's First Team
Referee: Ben Shepherd

Match Report

Cliftonville continued their strong start to the NIFL Women’s Premiership as they beat Larne Ladies 12-0 at Inver Park.

It only took ten minutes for the Champions to open the scoring when Northern Ireland Captain Marissa Callaghan scored from close range.

That goal gave the side a boost as a quickfire double from Danielle Maxwell and Kirsty McGuinness extended the lead to 3-0 with just 17 minutes on the clock.

For a second week in a row, Larne goalkeeper Kate Smith pulled off some impressive saves, but the Cliftonville dominance continued as they went into the half-time break 5-0 ahead after two more goals from Caitlin McGuiness and Danielle Maxwell.

Just three minutes into the second half the visitors were awarded a penalty for handball just inside the box. Callaghan stepped up to take the spot kick only to see her effort tipped onto the post by Smith. However, Kirsty McGuinness was quickest to the rebound to add a sixth and extend the lead.

Moments later Callaghan got her goal as she got on the end of a brilliant cross to volley in from close range and make it 7-0.

The Cliftonville dominance continued as Fionnula Morgan and Kirsty McGuniess made it 9-0 with 68 minutes played before Abbie Magee added a tenth.

There was still time for Cliftonville to extend their lead as Abbie Magee’s effort took a massive deflection to wrong-foot Smith from long range for 11-0 and Claire Shaw made it twelve just before the final whistle.

Larne Women: Smith, Nellins, Haveron, Houston, Morton, Wilgaus, Dougherty, Johnston, Rachel Robinson, Rebekah Robinson, Clare

Subs: Maguire, McMurray, Morrison, Orlowska, Agnew, Henderson