Hale to the four as Invermen make Cup progress

Jan 8, 2022 | Archive

Ronan Hale scored four goals as Larne ran out 5-0 winners away to Bangor in the first round of the Samuel Gelston’s Irish Cup.

Andy Scott was also on target to set up a second round clash at home to Linfield in the second round, at the beginning of February.

Larne boss Lynch made six changes to his starting XI for the trip to Clandeboue Park, including a first start of the season for teenage right back Max Greer.

However, it was a veteran who helped to set Larne on their way after just four minutes.

Defender Albert Watson played an inch-perfect pass up the right flank for Andy Scott to race on to and the little winger produced a tidy dink over Matthew Anderson from a tight angle inside the box.

The Invermen doubled their lead from the penalty spot with 18 minutes gone. Dean Jarvis went down under a challenge from Ryan Arthur and referee Declan Hassan pointed to the spot.

Ronan Hale stepped up to slot into the bottom corner, sending Anderson the wrong way.

Hale grabbed his second of the day to make it 3-0 on 31 minutes. Andy Scott was again in involved with an excellent lofted pass to put Hale behind the Bangor rearguard. The striker coolly brought the ball down with one touch and lobbed home with the next.

Hale completed his hat-trick 12 minutes into the second half after more good work from Andy Scott.

Scott won a corner on the left flank before playing a one-two and cross for Hale at the back post to nod home.

A number of subs from both sides followed but it was the man at the centre of attention all afternoon who rounded off the scoring.

Another long ball caught Bangor out as Hale kept himself onside to lob Anderson from the angle of the penalty area and claim his fourth of the day, with four minutes left.

Larne will take on Linfield in Round 2 on Friday 4th February at 7.45pm, after the game was chosen as the BBC’s live streamed game of the round.

Bangor: Anderson, Beattie (’79 Hume), Neale, Doey, Arthur, Harrison (’66 Devine), Storey (’66 Halliday), Cooling, Arthurs, Woods (’58 Upritchard), Glover (’79 Fletcher)

Unused subs: Gibbons, Wasson

Larne: Ferguson, Kelly, Watson, Sule (62 Herron), Nasseri (’46 Lynch), Randall (’62 McDaid), Hale, Scott, Bolger, Jarvis, Greer (’62 Doherty)

Unused subs: Argyrides, Mitchell, Cosgrove

Referee: Declan Hassan

Other News