Europa Conference League: the pre-draw guide

May 20, 2022 | First Team

The Inver Reds secured qualification to the UEFA Europa Conference League for the second successive year after a thrilling 4-2 win over Glentoran. Ronan Hale, who scored twice in Europe last season, was the hero once more as he fired in all four goals – (including one from his own half!

It’s now time to look ahead at the 2022/23 Europa Conference League and all the information that you need to know. The information presented is accurate at the time of writing and could change given not all qualification spots have been filled, with 13 more clubs still to be confirmed.

We advise fans to regularly check for any updates surrounding the draw.

What is the 2022/23 qualifying schedule?

The 2022/23 UEFA Conference League schedule begins with the draw for the first qualifying round on Tuesday 14thJune. The full qualifying schedule is as follows:

First Qualifying Round: Draw 14th June (games played 7th and 14th July).

Second Qualifying Round: Draw 15th June (games played 21st and 28th July).

Third Qualifying Round: Draw 18th July (games played 4th and 11th August).

Play-Off Round: Draw 2nd August (games played 18th and 25th August).

When do we enter the tournament?

We begin our European journey at the first qualifying round and will be an unseeded team due to our coefficient of 2.000.

How does the first qualifying round work?

The draw takes place on 14th June in Nyon, Switzerland where UEFA’s headquarters are located. The draw for the second qualifying round will take place on the following day.

At this stage of the competition, the draw is broken up into regionalised sub-groups, containing four seeded and four non-seeded sides. For example, last season our potential opponents were Bala Town (Wales), WKS Slask Wroclaw (Poland), Ki Klaksvik (Faroe Islands) and FH Hafnarfjördur (Iceland). This year’s sub-group will be know a few days before the draw.

Our first and second leg matches will take place between 7th and 14th July although these dates are subject to change. Be sure to check for any rescheduling before making travel arrangements.

See below for a full list of teams involved.

Who can we face?

As mentioned above, we are unseeded in the draw and will face one of the seeded clubs with a higher coefficient. Crusaders may potentially be seeded but we are unable to draw another club from the same league. Below are the current seeded teams, with more to be added before the start of due once the full list of qualifiers is known.

Seeded teams: (Coefficient in brackets)

  • Flora Talinn- Estonia (9.8)
  • Shkendija Tetovo- North Macedonia (9.0)
  • Alashkert- Armenia (8.0)
  • Riga FC- Lativa (8.0)
  • Olimpija Ljublijana- Slovakia (7.75)
  • KuPS Kuopio- Finland (7.5)
  • Fola Esch- Luxembourg (7.5)
  • Buducnost Podgorica- Montenegro (7.0)
  • Dinamo Tbilisi- Georgia (6.5)
  • KF Laci- Albania (6.0)
  • Mura Murska Sobota- Slovenia (5.5)
  • FC Drita- Kosovo (5.0)
  • Dinamo Minsk- Belarus (5.0)
  • B36 Torshavn- Faroe Islands (4.75)
  • Liepaja- Latvia (4.5)
  • Petrocub- Moldova (4.5)
  • Europa FC- Gibraltar (4.5)
  • Partizani Tirana- Albania (4.25)
  • Breidablik- Iceland (4.0)
  • HB Torshavn- Faroe Islands (4.0)
  • Gzira United- Malta (4.0)
  • Milsami Orhei- Moldova (3.75)
  • Kauno Zalgirs- Lithuania (3.5)
  • Bala Town- Wales (3.25)
  • Tre Penne- San Marino (3.25)
  • St. Joseph’s- Gibraltar (3.25)
  • Pogon Szczecin- Poland (3.175)
  • Lechia Gdansk- Poland (3.175)


Source: @NICoefficient

Other News